Films

Forthcoming films at Aldeburgh Cinema

St Peter’s and the Papal Basilicas of Rome

(U)

Premiere on Mon 4 July at 7.30pm

DISCOVER ARTS & ARCHITECTURE St Peter’s And The Papal Basilicas Of Rome brings completely new footage of St Peter’s, St John Lateran, St Mary Major, St Paul Outside The Walls and the works of art enshrined within them to the big screen.

MORE


 

Love & Friendship

(U)

Fri 17 & Sat 18 June at 7:30pm, Sun 19 June at 3:00pm, Mon 20 & Tue 21 June at 7:30pm Wed 22 June at 3:00pm, Thu 23 June at 7:30pm

Kate Beckinsale and Chloë Sevigny are a joy to behold as scheming friends Susan and Alicia in this razor-sharp, gorgeously staged comedy of romantic manners, based on Jane Austen's novella Lady Susan.  

MORE


 

Me Before You

(12A)

Fri 24 & Sat 25 June at 7:30pm, Sun 26 June at 3:00pm, Mon 27 June at 7:30pm, Wed 29 June at 3:00pm, Thu 30 June at 7:30pm

Quirky 26-year-old Lou (Emilia Clarke) becomes a care worker for wealthy young banker Will (Sam Claflin), who was severely disabled in a motorcycle

MORE


 

Our Little Sister

(PG)

Sat 25 June at 3:00pm, Sun 26 & Wed 29 June at 7:30pm

Grown-up sisters Sachi, Yoshino and Chika live together in their late grandmother’s house. When they discover that they have a 13-year-old half-sister who has nowhere to go, they invite her to move in with them. Kore-eda does what he does best, applying his sensitive touch to illuminate truths in domestic dynamics.  

MORE


 

Alice Through The Looking Glass

(PG)

Fri 1 July at 7:30pm, Sat 2 July at 3:00pm, Sun 3 July at 7:30pm, Wed 6 July at 3:00pm

This sequel to 2010’s Alice In Wonderland again stars Mia Wasikowska as Alice. Discovering that her old friend the Mad Hatter (Johnny Depp) has turned even madder than usual, she sets about trying to save him.  

MORE


 

Everybody Wants Some!!

(15)

Sat 2 July 7.30pm, Sun 3 July 3.00pm, Tue 5 & Wed 6 July 7.30pm

Over a long pre-term weekend, a group of college baseball players roam from their ramshackle accommodation around bars and parties, searching for action – sexual and otherwise – in Linklater's (Dazed And Confused) deft comedy.  

MORE


 

Absolutely Fabulous: The Movie

(12A TBC)

Fri 8 July at 7:30, Sat 9 & Sun 10 July at 3:00pm & 7:30pm, Mon 11 July at 7:30, Tue 12 July at 3:00pm, Wed 13 July at 3:00pm & 7:30pm, Thu 14 July at 7:30pm

After an attempt to schmooze Kate Moss goes spectacularly awry, PR agent Eddy (Jennifer Saunders) and magazine editor Patsy (Joanna Lumley) beat a retreat to the French Riviera. The result is a fun-in-the-sun caper where even Botox won’t stop you smiling.

MORE


 

The BFG

(PG)

Fri 22 July to Thurs 4 Aug at 4.00pm & 7.30pm excluding 23 July & 30 July matinees

The talents of the world’s greatest storytellers – Roald Dahl, Walt Disney and Steven Spielberg – finally unite to bring beloved classic THE BFG to life.

MORE